Young Chautauqua is a nationally recognized youth program in which young scholars portray historical figures. Through monologues and question-and-answer sessions, young scholars-in and out of character-engage the audience in lively discussions with people from the past, and then provide insight into historical study. The Young Chautauqua program is a valuable way to increase young people's understanding of, and engagement with, the humanities. Students in grades 4 through 12 throughout Colorado participate in our Young Chautauqua program.

Young Chautauqua is comprised of series of workshops of scholarship, research, rehearsal, and performance in which students bring history to life by immersing themselves in the writings and lives of historical characters. Young people select an inspiring person in history who possesses the qualities, values, and often life circumstances that they can identify with in their own life. Each student researches a character of their choice and portrays the character including their personality, ideology, and life-changing events that molded their character. This portrayal is presented in front of an audience of their peers.



Program goals are to raise student interest and knowledge of American history; provide opportunities to practice research and public speaking; and provide opportunities for students to be mentored by professional historians and presenters. The program bulds self-esteem and reveals insight into life choices and challenges. It encourages confidence, self-esteem, good life choices, study skills, presenation skills, and critical thinking.

To request more information about the Young Chautauqua program in Greeley-Evans School District 6, contact Greeley Convention and Visitor's Bureau 970-352-3567 or email us at:



The All-Stars: Young Chautauqua Scholars

Under the Big Tent at Aims Community College

August 8, 2018: Wednesday   9:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.


9:00-9:10 a.m.                  Overview and Introductions

9:10-9:40                            Brentwood Middle School

                                                A.J. Hoeye as Debbie Reynolds

                                                Landen Shuey as John F. Kennedy

                                                Jace Shackley as Gene Wilder

                                                Sean Rotter as John Lennon

9:40-9:55                            Prairie Heights Middle School

                                                Brynn Coons as Audrey Hepburn    

                                                Ray Ruff as Ralph Henry Baer   

9:55-10:50                         Central High School

                                                Grace Stevens as Edie Sedgewick

                                                Michael Morin as Bobby Fisher

                                                Jalen Butler as Walt Disney

                                                Brandon Chavez as Nelson Mandela

                                                Charmaynae Johns as Sergi Korolev

                                                Aidan Schuttler as Eoin McNeill

                                                Bryanna Skelton as Natalie Wood

10:50-11:05                      Dos Rios Elementary              

                                                Juliet Kile as Pearl Buck

                                                Alexia Salcido Rascon as Vance Kirkland

                                                Samantha Watson as Madeleine L’Engle

11:05-11:40                      Heiman Elementary

                                                Coen McCall as Martin Luther King, Jr.

                                                Madison Vella as Marilyn Monroe

                                                Nate Woody as Little Raven

                                                Pascal Nnaji as John Dyer

                                                Jordyn Birdwell as Rosa Parks

                                                Kaitlyn Fenton as Lucille Ball

11:40- 11:45                     Fred Tjardes School of Innovation

                                                Riley Sathe as Natalie Wood

11:45-11:50                      Jackson Elementary

                                                Brandon (Blaze) Swift as John F. Kennedy

11:50-11:55                      Madison Elementary

                                                Kryshna Gonzalez as Maria Tallchief                      

11:55-12:00                      McAuliffe Elementary

                                                Angelica Rivera as Rosa Parks

12:00-1:00                         LUNCH Break

1:10-1:20                            West High School

                                                Kathryn Broderius as Katharine Graham

1:20-2:45                            Chappelow Fine Arts Magnet K-8

                                                William Broderius as Vince Lombardi

                                                Will Mathews as Howard Cosell

                                                Witt Mathews as Walt Disney

                                                Jeb Mathews as Red Skelton

                                                Emery McDonough as Lucille Ball

                                                Charlie Nelson as Audrey Hepburn

                                                Fionna Kerkes as Madeleine L’Engle

                                                Tessa Johnston as Bella Abzug

                                                Asher Hein as Maurice Hilleman

                                                Ainsley Haggin as Janis Joplin

                                                Paityn Liscano-Garcia as Grace Kelly

                                                Ali Lone as Malcom X

                                                Dylan Frederick-Law as John Glenn

2:45-3:00                            Heath Middle School

                                                Abdimalik Hussein as Malcom X

                                                Alyssa Pastranna as Patsy Cline

3:00-3:05                            Meeker Elementary

                                                Amelia Benavidez as Ruth Handler

3:05-3:20                            Monfort Elementary

                                                Nicholas Tijerina as Jack Dempsey

                                                Sophia Tijerina as Audrey Hepburn

                                                Elliott Smith as Maya Angelou

3:20-3:30                            Romero Elementary

                                                Daniel Franco Carrasco as Bob Hope

                                                Andrea Cerrillo as Marguerite Annie Johnson

3:30-3:35                            Salida del Sol Academy

                                                Sabrina Ruiz as Maya Angelou

3:35-3:40                            Shawsheen Elementary

                                                Jessica Nunez as Debbie Reynolds

3:40-3:45                            Trinity Lutheran          

                                                Zeke Wojurfin as Gus Grissom

3:45-3:50                            University Elementary School

                                                Brenna Bond as Shirley Temple Black